• Please bear with us. We have moved to a new provider, and some images and icons are not working correctly. We are working hard to fix this

Tackle offside offence

Richyb

New member
Hello, if a player was to contravene law 14.10 offside at a tackle what penalty would they incur?

For rucks the penalty for being offside is provided for at rule 15.8, or for a maul the penalty is listed at rule 16.5

I cannot see a the penalty for being offside once a tackle has formed.

Can anyone kindly answer this question.

Thanks.
 
I's a Tackle;-before a ruck or Maul has formed. Therefore- Tackle laws apply. There are other laws that apply with Penalty sanction. which is the particular problem?
 
I's a Tackle;-before a ruck or Maul has formed. Therefore- Tackle laws apply. There are other laws that apply with Penalty sanction. which is the particular problem?
The OP is asking why there is no specific sanction for a 14.10 offence. I'd suggest its an oversight in the book. Not the only one.
Side note: I wonder if other sports suffer from such poorly worded laws/rules?
 
Side note: I wonder if other sports suffer from such poorly worded laws/rules?
I doubt it, but it is what makes rugby fascinating. So very few come close to an understanding of the game, yet so many (most) actually believe complete understanding is theirs. It is a brilliant folly to observe each Saturday.
 
A tackle is a distinct part of Open Play (see Definitions of Open Play and Phase of Play), therefore Law 10 applies.

Hence there is no separate Offside offence for not retiring from a tackle (Laws 10.9-10.11).

QED
 
Back
Top