In last weekend's game, I made a decision which, nobody complained about at the time, but I remember thinking "I'll check that later with the rugbyrefs forum". My uncertainty is exacerbated by this year's law trial changes.
Blue v Red. Blue are attacking, about 30 metres from Red's goal line. Blue 10 places a nice chip-kick for his right winger to chase. It bounces about 1 metre from the goal line and , the defending Red 15 had turned and is sprinting backwards to try to recover the ball. The ball bounces about 3 meters into the air and ( i judge ) is just about touching the plane of the goal line. Red-15 , aware of the on-rushing attacker, jumps on the air to catch the bouncing ball. He jumps from the field of play and contacts the ball over the goal line. He lands into in-goal and touches the ball down.
I award a 22 , explaining that the ball had reached the plane of the goal-line, hence the defender hadnt carried it into his own in-goal area.
Was this right ?
Blue v Red. Blue are attacking, about 30 metres from Red's goal line. Blue 10 places a nice chip-kick for his right winger to chase. It bounces about 1 metre from the goal line and , the defending Red 15 had turned and is sprinting backwards to try to recover the ball. The ball bounces about 3 meters into the air and ( i judge ) is just about touching the plane of the goal line. Red-15 , aware of the on-rushing attacker, jumps on the air to catch the bouncing ball. He jumps from the field of play and contacts the ball over the goal line. He lands into in-goal and touches the ball down.
I award a 22 , explaining that the ball had reached the plane of the goal-line, hence the defender hadnt carried it into his own in-goal area.
Was this right ?